President of Ukraine awards young scientists

Our previous PhD students (discipline: physical sciences) Dr. Myron Rudysh and Dr. Pavlo Shchepanskyi, currently employed at the Faculty of Physics, University of I.Franki in Lviv, were honoured by the President of Ukraine Volodymyr Zelensky with the award for outstanding young scientists for 2022. This is the most prestigious award for people at the beginning of their scientific career for research. Our laureates were granted on they achievements in new, multifunctional materials for applications in batteries, hydrogen storage devices, sensor technology and electronics. During a ceremonial meeting in Kiev on April 20, 2023, the awards were presented to the winners by the President of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine.

Both laureates, during their doctoral studies at UJD, conducted their research under the supervision of professors: Michał Piasecki (supervisor) and Mikhail G. Brik, at the Department of Theoretical Physics as part of the NCN projects (OPUS, Preludium), NAWA (Polonium, Polish-Chinese, Polish -Taiwanese). Despite the end of studies, intensive scientific cooperation is continued, and its measurable result is many joint publications.

In the photos, (1) the winners representing the University of Lviv: Dr. Kordan Vasyl (chemist), Dr. Myron Rudysh, Dr. Horyacha Myroslava (chemist) and Dr. Pavlo Shchepanskyi; (2) the diploma and medal.

by prof. Michał Piasecki